Blog Archive

What is it? Every one keeps saying "Oh no! Phase 5!" But what do they mean by it? Also, what does it have to do with the swine flu?


vicki* said...

pandemic alert phases are the world health organization (WHO)'s scale of how severe a certain disease is. there are 6 levels, with 6 being the most serious. however, the scale does not measure fatality, only how contagious and widespread a disease gets. currently, the swine flu is at level 5, which pretty much means that scientists know it's transmitted human to human and it's popped up in a lot of countries and continents. that doesn't mean that swine flu is any more deadly (there have been 159 fatalities out of over 2000 cases in mexico and only 1 in the US), it just means that it's spreading.

Michael T said...
That is all you need to know.
We are currently in a phase 5 where a pandemic is imminent.

Safety 1st Strollers said...

We are in Phase 5 out of 6. 6 is the worst.
This means that the World Health Organization detected the sickness in 2 countries.
Not very interesting.

вσσ яα∂ℓєу (lola is almost 2!!!) said...

1-6 I believe.
We are in phase 5.
Phase 6 is pandemic. Pandemic is a worldwide outbreak of one similar disease.°

SayWhat? said...

It has become a greater threat now.

Baiti I said...

hmm im not sure.
but pandemic is when its like a worldwide thing

muffins said...

phase 5

Post a Comment